- Municipal Court
- Youth Offenders
Juveniles are persons who are under the age of 17. If you are a juvenile and charged with a traffic or criminal violation, State Law requires that you appear in Court with your parent or legal guardian.
Minors are persons who are 17 or older but younger than 21. Any person under the age of 21 charged with alcohol or tobacco violation must appear in Court.
Defendants and their parent or guardian are required by law to provide the Court, in writing, your current residence address. If your place of residence changes, you must notify the Court in writing of your new residence address.
Failure to keep the Court informed of your new residence may result in Failure to Appear and Failure to Notify charges against both you and your parent or guardian. The obligation of keeping the Court informed of your current residence address is required until the case is disposed of.
A Class C Misdemeanor is punishable by a fine up to $500. Although officers can arrest for Class C offenses, there is no punishment of jail time handed down by the court.
Ex: Disorderly Conduct, Possession of Drug Paraphernalia, Traffic Offenses, Theft of Property < $100, Assault without Bodily Injury, Assault Family Violence.
*All Juveniles must appear with a parent or guardian for any court proceedings*
Juveniles: Ages 10-16 Minors: Ages 17-20 Adults: 21+
In Texas, deferred disposition can include counseling, community service, driving safety classes, anti-theft courses, alcohol, and drug awareness classes, 30-90-day deferral.
Per the judge’s discretion, a defendant can be awarded Jail Time Credit if they can provide proof of previous or current incarceration that took place after the offense date in La Marque.
If a defendant commits any of the following actions, a warrant will be placed for their arrest: failure to appear, failure to pay fine, failure to complete alcohol awareness course (for Minors in possession/consumption of alcohol charges), or failure to complete deferred disposition.
In accordance with Article 42.0131 of the Texas Code of Criminal Procedure, Please take notice that if you are convicted of an offense involving violence against a member of your family or household, or against someone with whom you have or have had a dating relationship, it will be unlawful for you to possess or transfer a firearm or ammunition. For Assault/Family Violence charges, the defendant is fingerprinted and given an Assault Family Violence Admonishment